When Rafael Nadal passed Bjorn Borg’s Major record

Tennis – Nadal moved in front of the Swede at the 2020 Roland Garros.

Winning a Major title is always a remarkable feat. Beating seven rivals in two weeks requires an exceptional performance and composed tennis in challenging best-of-five encounters. The feat becomes even more exclusive when we talk about the players who have won a Major title without losing a set, with only five names on that list in the Open era.

Ken Rosewall did that at the Australian Open 1971, and Ilie Nastase followed him at Roland Garros two years later. Between 1976 and 1980, the remarkable Bjorn Borg achieved the feat thrice at Roland Garros and Wimbledon, remaining the record-holder for four decades!

Bjorn was the last Major champion without losing a set until 2007, when Roger Federer joined him at the Australian Open. The Swiss stopped the clock and repeated the task at Wimbledon 2017 at almost 36! Rafael Nadal overshadowed the mentioned rivals by dominating a single Major like no before.

The Spaniard became the first player with four Major titles without dropping a set, accomplishing that in his beloved Paris two years ago. Nadal won Roland Garros titles in dominant style in 2008 and 2010. He stood strong again in 2017 to match Bjorn Borg before passing the great Swede in 2020.

On October 11, Rafa conquered the 13th Roland Garros crown from 16 trips to Paris, ousting all seven rivals in straight sets to earn a remarkable record and join Roger Federer on 20 Major trophies! At 34, Nadal endured all the Paris efforts.

He overpowered his opponents and challenging conditions to confirm his greatness and write the record books 15 years after his first triumph in the French capital. The Spaniard suffered eight breaks in seven matches, delivering incredible tennis on serve and return to leave all the opponents behind and claim the fourth straight crown in Paris.

Rafael Nadal is the only player with four Major titles without losing a set.

Rafa toppled Egor Gerasimov, Mackenzie McDonald, Stefano Travaglia and Sebastian Korda without breaking a sweat in the opening four rounds. The king of clay suffered one break and dropped 23 games (ten against Gerasimov in the first clash) in 12 sets to sail into the quarters and preserve energy.

Nadal worked hard against the young Italian Jannik Sinner, getting broken twice and trailing 6-5 in the opener to jeopardize the record. Nonetheless, Rafa broke back at the last moment and won the tie break to wrap up the opening set before prevailing in the second and standing strong in the third to advance into the semis.

Diego Schwartzman defeated Rafa in Rome a few weeks earlier but stood no chance in Paris. Nadal wasted a massive lead in the third set, and Schwartzman gained momentum in the second part to reach a tie break. Still, Nadal won it 7-0 to seal the deal in style and move into the 13th Roland Garros final.

The most challenging obstacle stood between Rafael Nadal and the title, with world no. 1 Novak Djokovic standing on the other side of the net. Like those before him, Novak had nothing to offer against mighty Rafa, who produced a 6-0, 6-2, 7-5 triumph in two hours and 41 minutes to celebrate the fourth Major crown without losing a set!

Nadal had 31 winners and 14 unforced errors and performed strongly from both wings to take 51% of the return points and control the scoreboard. Novak sprayed 52 unforced errors, searching for his A-game for over two hours and suffering a massive loss despite a solid effort in set number three.

Rafa lost serve once, which was never enough for Novak to keep comfortable. Like in 2008 against Roger Federer, Nadal delivered a bagel in the opening set, playing almost flawless tennis and providing three breaks against the world’s leading player.

Rafa faced no break points in set number two, taming his strokes nicely and outplaying Djokovic on the return for another rock-solid set of tennis and a 6-0, 6-2 advantage. Eager to avoid disaster, Novak saved a break chance in the third set’s third game and raised his level.

Rafa broke him at love in game five and gave the serve away for the first and only time a few minutes later, providing Djokovic with a necessary boost. Nadal held comfortably in games eight, ten and 12, earned a break at 5-5 after Novak’s double fault and sealed the deal with a hold at love for a massive celebration of the 20th Major title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Serena Williams suspected for pregnancy, shows “baby bump” during Vogue parade

Iga Swiatek, six other top-10 players sign up for WTA 500 event in October